CWIT Staff, Board of Directors & Tradeswomen’s Council

Our dynamic team, along with the Board of Directors and Tradeswomen’s Council, provides the foundation for Chicago Women in Trades to pave the way for the future of women in the construction industry.

Chicago Women in Trades’ Staff Members

Jayne Vellinga

Executive Director

Wendy Moylan

Director of Development

Renée Jones

Program Director

Beth Berendsen

Policy Director

Nadia Chathappuram

Director of Finance & Administration

Symone Holmes

Outreach & Youth Engagement

Ashley Matrisciano

Welding Coordinator

Desiree Guzman

Welding Instructor

Tonnickie Singleton

Welding Case Manager

Shanee Norfleet-Brown

TOP Case Manager

Sandra Brudent

Women Build Illinois
Case Manager

Duwanda Judson

Workforce Case Manager

Renee Richardson

Career Developer

Ca’Ron King

Program Coordinator

Erika Werth

Policy Associate

Lindsey Stepney Wright

Manager of Marketing and

Mercedez Gonzalez

Administrative Assistant

Eileen Pollard


Janan Robinson

Office Manager

National Center for Women’s Equity in Apprenticeship & Employment Staff

Lauren Sugerman

Center Director

Lark Jackson

Associate Director

Candace Megerssa

Technical Assistant Manager

Vonetta Robinson

Program Manager

Cristina Barillas-McEntee

TBI Program Director

Board of Directors

  • Sarah Joy Liles
    Pipefitter, Local 597
    MEP Manager, Turner Construction
  • Japlan “Jazz” Allen – Chair
    Iron Worker, Local 1
  • Maurice King
    Vice President, IBEW Local 134
    Assistant Director, IBEW-NECA Technical Institute
  • Kina McAfee – Treasurer
    Carpenter, Local 1
    Assistant Coordinator, Mid-America Council of Carpenters Apprentice & Training Program
  • Chantay Moore
    Certified Financial Educator
    Heartland Institute of Financial Education
  • Michael Shue
    Labor Program Manager
    Constellation Energy
  • Jocelyn Woodards – Secretary
    Popular Education Community Engagement Coordinator
  • Jamillah Muhammad
    Education-to-Careers Director
  • Tamara McCollough Operating Engineer, Local 150

Tradeswomen’s Council

  • Liz Albertson
    Plumber, Local 130
  • Lisa Czaplicki
    Ironworker, Local 63
  • Maria Riojas
    IBEW, Local 134
  • Alyssa Gutierrez
    Sprinkler Fitter, Local 281
  • Delia Alfich
    Insulator, Local 17
  • Helen Chung
    Painter, District Council 14
  • Shea Smith
    Sheet Metal Worker, Local 73
  • Pam Hamilton
    Pipefitter, Local 597
  • Japlan “Jazz” Allen
    Ironworker, Local 1
  • Lisa Guzman
    Carpenter, Local 58